Kathmandu Valley – 3 days

The Kathmandu Valley is situated 1350 meters above the sea level and 20 km wide, of a circular shape. It is located at the foot of Himalayas. Lies at the crossroads of ancient civilizations of Asia, and has at least 130 important monuments, including several places of pilgrimage for the Hindus and the Buddhists. There are seven UNESCO World Heritage Sites within this valley. Three main cities are located here: Patan, Bhaktapur and Kathmandu – the capital. The valley is on the UNESCO list of the World Heritage Sites since 1979. Although the oldest documented settlements in Nepal appeared in Terai, the heart of the country is the Kathmandu Valley, political, financial and trade centre for ages. The valley is also historically important to the Nepalese people.

Important monuments of Kathmandu Valley include:

  • Kathmandu: Durbar Square, Swayambhunath Stupa (Monkey Temple), Thamel, Pashupatinath Temple, Boudhanath Stupa, Chabahil Stupa
  • Patan Durbar Square
  • Bhaktapur Durbar Square
  • Changu Narayan
  • Balkumari Temple in Thimi
  • Wakachhen Mahadev in Thimi
  • Golden Window in Thimi
  • Manjushri Temple in Patan
  • Aditnath Temple in Chobhar
  • Palanchok Temple in Kavre

Apart from the most important cities of the region there are also spectacular viewpoints of the majestic Himalaya mountains. Several days of hiking around the valley will allow every tourist to visit the most important tourist attractions. If you do not have a lot of time, take one day trip to see Monkey Temple, Pashupatinath Temple and Durbar Square in Kathmandu and Patan.